Some playlists to kick things off

Posted: June 24, 2010 in Music that makes me happy

Hello world.

This is my first post. Unsure about what to write about – but for some bizarre reason badly desiring a blog – I thought rather than constantly emailing friends (or friend – hello Laura) Spotify play-lists / general stuff I like, I could add them here and just send the link. When I think of something profound I’ll be sure to publish it, but until then (which may / probably never happen) this is it.

Anyway, here are a few of my favourite current artists and compilations. Updates will follow as and when!

Darwin Deez – Darwin Deez (The Foals meets Jack Johnson – best tracks for me are Radar Detector and Bad Day)

070810 – Pictionary BBQ (A very random compilation I put together for a BBQ / pictionary fest, about a month ago. Ranging from Roots manouvre to Dusty Springfield)

Whitest Boy Alive (Bass guitar driven chill, somewhere between Friendly Fires and Zero 7 – ‘burning’ and ‘golden cage’ are two of my favourites. )

Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix (French Indy Funk – this band opened up a whole new genre to me – and they’re actually how I discovered Whitest Boy Alive (thanks Spotibot)

Pan-Pot – Back To Back Vol. Two (Some tech housey goodness I stumbled across randomly. Some of it’s a bit too minimal for me but most is very good. Check out Faces for starters.)

Glitzy tech house funky amazing minimal shit (090810) (This is a random tech compilation I put together for running and the gym. It makes me gurn and dribble just thinking about listening to it)

Snow Patrol Late Night Tales (I thought I’d save the best until last – this one is owed to Ryan Covill – a DJ pal and all round good bloke. It is eclectic, fresh, spans many genres and eras and is generally all round amazing. My favourite tracks right now are ‘Fancy’ – by Bobby Gentry and ‘Eanie Meany’ by Jim Noir)

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

